Who We Are

A Message from Our President


My name is Andy Paul, and it is a great honor to serve as president of the Northern California REFORMA chapter Bibliotecas Para La Gente for the current 2021/2022 term. I have been working in public libraries in the San Francisco Bay Area for over 20 years and have almost completed my MLIS. I have been active in Bibliotecas Para La Gente since 2018 and was a previous recipient of the Rita Torres scholarship. I am a 4th generation Californian who speaks Spanish, and I am a translator for the city and library I work for. I learned Spanish in school, at work, by helping and speaking to people in my community, and I kept learning as an undergraduate at SJSU and after, taking courses at San Jose City College. I am active in the local labor movement and have been fighting for public employees and working families for about 10 years. I am currently also the secretary of my bargaining unit and am working diligently to negotiate good contracts that support safe and fair working conditions for employees.

Please join us for a meeting to see what Bibliotecas Para La Gente is all about! We have some exciting things coming on the horizon and are always looking for new members to advocate for promoting and enhancing library services to the Hispanic and Spanish speaking communities.

Thank you,

Andy Paul

Bibliotecas Para La Gente

President 2021-2022, 2022-2023

Officers of Bibliotecas Para La Gente






Prior Executive Boards

Officers 2021-2022

President - Andy Paul

Vice President - Adrian Barrientos

Past President - Adriana Lugo

Secretary - Susan Nilson

Treasurer - Patricia (Pat) Toney

Webmaster - Joanna M. Arteaga La Spina

Officers 2020-2021

President - Adriana Lugo

Vice President - Andy Paul

Past President - Jennifer Maria Weisberg

Secretary - Esmeralda Casas

Treasurer - Patricia (Pat) Toney

Officers 2019-2020

President - Jennifer Maria Weisberg

Vice President - Adriana Lugo

Past President - Esmeralda Casas

Secretary - Andy Paul

Treasurer - Patricia (Pat) Toney

Webmaster - Elizabeth Munoz Rosas / Nancy Macias

Officers 2018-2019

President - Esmeralda Casas

Vice President - Jennifer Maria Weisberg

Past President - Francisco Vargas

Secretary - Adriana Lugo

Treasurer - Patricia (Pat) Toney

Webmaster - Dolly Goyal

Officers 2017-2018

President - Francisco Vargas

Vice President - Esmeralda Casas

Past President - Armando Rivera

Secretary - Jennifer Weisberg

Treasurer - Patricia (Pat) Toney

Officers 2016-2017

President - Armando Rivera

Vice President - Francisco Vargas

Past President - Janice Garcia

Secretary - Esmeralda Casas

Treasurer - Patricia (Pat) Toney

Webmaster - Heather Ott